My latest fidget blanket

dsc0232922

This is my finished Oh Blue fidget quilt or blanket. Some times called a touch quilt, or sensory quilt. They are for people that need to keep their hands busy. Largely used in nursing homes or hospitals for loved ones with Alzheimer, Dementia, Rehab patients, Restless Fingers and other needs to keep ones hands from pulling out tube,  pulling out hair, picking at skin, or making hole in furniture, etc.

dsc0231422

I start out with a color and pile all the fabric I think will work for a quilt onto my cutting table, then slowly go through them seeing which ones go together. This is for a 16 square quilt with 6″ finished squares.

dsc02318

This is the first round of the cut squares….Once I started to sew them I found that some didn’t want to play well with the other fabrics so I had to remove them from the base quilt.

dsc0232122

Much better This is day two of working on one quilt. I have sewn the top and added a few ribbons into the seams, one with a clip. In the above picture I have a navy blue backing all cut as well as the batting. This quilt is ready to be sewn with a in the ditch method.

dsc0232322

I chose a navy blue fabric for the binding. Here I am sewing on the star applique with a decorative stitch.

dsc0233422

Quilt is finished and added to my Etsy store ” Louises Sewing Basket”. Before I add it to my store I do a write up in word for spelling and grammar errors, and make a list of all the items on the quilt. I also add a picture see below with names pointing out all the benefits on a quilt.

dsc02334named

Check out my store for all of my products at :

https://www.etsy.com/shop/LouisesSewingBasket?ref=hdr_shop_menu

 

 

One thought on “My latest fidget blanket

  1. Pingback: My latest fidget blanket | louises bottega

Leave a Reply

